What are we searching for?

by Kevin Birnbaum

For the Year of Faith (Oct. 11, 2012-Nov. 24, 2013) I’m trying to read through the Catechism of the Catholic Church (seven paragraphs a day) and the New Testament (less than one chapter a day).

This morning I started the Gospel of Mark, and one passage struck me:

And in the morning, a great while before day, [Jesus] rose and went out to a lonely place, and there he prayed. And Simon and those who were with him followed him, and they found him and said to him, “Every one is searching for you.” (Mk 1:35-37)

“Every one is searching for you.” They’re just talking about the townspeople, but I think they’ve stumbled upon a universal truth. Is it fair to say that, whether they know it or not, everyone is searching for Jesus? I think so. We all want to find true happiness. We yearn for beauty, truth, and goodness.

And that’s what Jesus is.

