The world is a wonderful place

by Kevin Birnbaum

G.K. Chesterton as Bacchus

The world is a wonderful place. Perhaps no one has felt this more keenly, or expressed it more delightfully, than the English writer G.K. Chesterton (1874-1936). In a letter to his fiancée, Frances Blogg, postmarked July 8, 1899, he wrote:

I do not think there is anyone who takes quite such a fierce pleasure in things being themselves as I do. The startling wetness of water excites and intoxicates me: the fieriness of fire, the steeliness of steel, the unutterable muddiness of mud. (Gilbert Keith Chesterton by Maisie Ward, p. 97)

I wish I were more like GKC and could catch the wonder of the ordinary more often. Also, “the unutterable muddiness of mud” is one of my all-time favorite phrases. Just say it out loud.

