Bless us all

by Kevin Birnbaum

Muppet_Christmas_CarolContinuing my unplanned string of posts about things worthy of tears, I now implore you to rewatch (because surely you’ve seen it, right?) The Muppet Christmas Carol, which I’ve been known to describe as perhaps the most wonderful movie there is. It really is a beautiful movie, and this week marks the twentieth anniversary of its release.

Considering it stars Gonzo and Rizzo the Rat, and features much of the usual Muppet silliness, it’s a remarkably faithful adaptation of Charles Dickens’s classic tale, with most of the dialogue and narration drawn straight from the book. And of course you could hardly ask for a finer Ebenezer Scrooge than Michael Caine.

I think my favorite scene is the one pictured above, Christmas present at the Cratchit house. After Tiny Tim utters his famous prayer, “God bless us, every one,” the family joins in a lovely little song, “Bless Us All.” I always tear up when Tiny Tim sings the line, “We have so much that we can share with those in need we see around us everywhere.” It’s just so beautiful. By worldly standards, the Cratchits have so little—they are a poor family. And yet they focus on how they can be of service others. It’s another movie moment that makes me want to be a better person.

